Why God Made Little Girls

The marina at IOP

The Bible I carry to church each Sunday is not fancy.  The cover is white and is signed to me by my childhood church for my high school graduation.  Since I received that Bible, I’ve also had the same bookmark – it’s peach colored, has a drawing of a doll on it, and is inscribed with the poem, “Why God Made Little Girls.”

I think God made little girls because they grow up to be beautiful, strong, loving, genuine women who take care of each other. 

It’s not over yet (thank goodness), but this weekend opened my eyes to the most amazing group of women.  All who I will proudly call role models for the life I want to live. 

Early yesterday morning, I was standing on the beach with my feet in the sand, the water rushing over my feet and the sand pulling away through my toes.  I stretched out my arms and raised my face to the sky, having a long conversation with God.  I prayed something I often pray – “Lord, please guide me in living the life you want me to live. Help guide me each day.”

When I got back to the house, my friend Traci was sitting on the porch and I told her about the moment I’d had on the beach.  She listened patiently, understanding what I was trying to say even though I couldn’t really articulate it.  I don’t think she knows it, but Traci touches my heart every day, talking about faith as if it’s a no-brainer.  I truly believe that this is why He put Traci back in my life – to answer that daily prayer.

I often struggle with two things in my life: faith and forgiveness.  I don’t think I’m alone in this, but I do know that these things eat away at me sometimes.  I have a hard time handing my life completely over to God, and I beat myself up over bad decisions I’ve made. 

But this weekend – this amazing, spiritual weekend – was completely unexpected.  I knew we were coming here to recharge, relax, laugh and have fun.  I didn’t expect to renew my faith.  My eyes are open, and while I know that I am guaranteed to falter from time to time, I have this to remember.

I’m sending up this prayer right now to thank God for guiding these little girls to become beautiful women: Courtney, Cristina, Jennifer, Jill, Lita, Rachel, Stephanie and Traci.

“Why God Made Little Girls”
God made the world with towering trees,
Majestic mountains and restless seas.
Then paused and said , “It needs one more thing…
Someone to laugh and dance and sing.
To walk in the wood and gather flowers…
To commune with nature in quiet hours.”

So God made little girls
With laughing eyes and bouncing curls,
With joyful hearts and infectious smiles,
Enchanting ways and feminine wiles.
And when He’d completed the task He’d begun.
He was pleased and proud of the job He’d done.
For the world, when seen through little girl’s eyes
Greatly resembled Paradise.

-Anonymous

About Heather

I'm a southern girl who likes to cook, eat, travel, read and write. I also try to balance my food fetish with fitness, like running, dancing, hiking and biking. I started this blog to share my thoughts, cooking successes (and disasters), travel experiences and anything else that I might be doing at the time. Thanks for reading.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

